MagazineBook reviews

Just in | Library of book reviews 


Jago And Litefoot Series 4 Box Set by Nigel Fairs, John Dorney, Matthew Sweet and Justin Richards

01/06/2012. Contributed by Sue Davies

Buy Jago And Litefoot Series 4 Box Set in the USA - or Buy Jago And Litefoot Series 4 Box Set in the UK

author pic

pub: Big Finish. 5 CDs 300 minute story with extras. Price: CD: 30.00 (UK), Download: 25.00 (UK). ISBN: 978-1-84435-562-4). cast: Christopher Benjamin, Trevor Baxter, Louise Jameson, Colin Baker, Lisa Bowerman, Elizabeth Counsell, Alan Cox, Victoria Alcock, Terry Molloy, Christopher Beeny and Mike Grady.

check out web site

Those two crusty, crenulated, charming citizens of London, Jago and Litefoot are back in a new series of adventures. Loosely held together by a common narrative thread, these four stories are presented in a boxed set of CDs or download.

1. Jago in Love by Nigel Fairs

As the pair feel the need for sea breezes and Leela suggests Brighton for a Victorian mini break, it seems Mr. Jago is having a holiday romance and Professor Litefoot is suffering some unknown mental anguish.

The episode is linked to the series but, meanwhile, we have two narrative threads running contra to each other as Mr. Jago finds his heart stretched and his loyalties, too.
In extremis, Leela must find another ally to help Professor Litefoot.

Written by Nigel Fairs, this episode uses local and historical colour, a mixture of the real and fictionalised to weave an intriguing tale.

2. Beautiful Things by John Dorney

Back in the London, the three friends meet again the mysterious and charming Professor Claudius Dark and discover the reason for their holiday.

A visit to the theatre to see Oscar's new play leaves Litefoot at a loose end as he's not Wilde about Oscar. Jago meets his metrical match at word play and Leela uses her tracking senses to good effect. Author John Dorney threads the witty Wilde into his story and uses his own knowledge.

3. The Lonely Clock by Matthew Sweet

It's all about time, as our imperilled pair catches a train to nowhere and Leela must enlist a murderer's help.

Again, there is nice use of period effects and a wonderful sense of time and place.

4. The Hourglass Killers by Justin Richards

It all comes together at the end as the Professor is revealed and the sands of time slip away. Can our friends save the day again?

Once again the four stories are nicely paced and have their own mini-drama and theme tucked inside the main story arc.

I hate to gush but the stories of Jago and Litefoot are such fun. They are the shambling antidote to Holmes and Watson. Litefoot being the erudite but not unlovable one whilst the earthy Jago is the comedy foil who nevertheless is a loveable rogue. Adding Leela to the last series and this has added another dimension of potential and amusement.

I look forward to Jago and Litefoot special outings with the Sixth Doctor which will be released late in 2012.

Sue Davies

Magazine > Book reviews

Just in | Library of book reviews

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


This book has 127 votes in the sci-fi charts

The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site