MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


Writers of the Future winners 2003

15/08/2003. Contributed by Jessica Martin

author pic

With David Carradine presenting this year's L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards for science fiction & fantasy there might have been a little Kung Fu fighting on the menu. There wasn't!

Actors David Carradine - star of the upcoming movie Kill Bill - Jason Lee (aka Dreamcatcher, Almost Famous etc), and a roster of best-selling authors, topped the list of presenters at the 19th annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards held last weekend for the best new creative talent in the fields of science fiction and fantasy.

Honorees at the ceremonies were reminded of their role in society and urged by the actors to provide fresh, new and challenging stories, despite the risky uncertainties of the literary and entertainment marketplace.

The Hubbard Awards Ceremonies celebrated the winners of the Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests for beginning authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy, gathered from throughout the United States, Japan, Canada - with countries ranging from Sweden to Romania at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

Carradine, star of this fall's new Quentin Tarantino outing Kill Bill, and of the classic Kung Fu series, presented the Grand Prize for "Story of the Year" and exhorted the budding talent to, "... continue to create imaginative stories despite an artist's ups and downs."

Carradine also thanked all those who had the courage to take a chance with him as a new artist, and anyone who risks their reputation and money taking that chance today.

Lee, who presented the grand prize for "Illustration of the Year" said, "I've always believed in the role of artists in the society, which is why I have been a patron of the arts for over a decade now."

Headlining the list of notables were also best selling authors-and judges of the Writers of the Future Contest-Tim Powers (Declare), Kevin J. Anderson (Dune: The Butlerian Jihad), Frederik Pohl (Gateway), Jerry Pournelle (Lucifer's Hammer), Hal Clement (Needle), and Dr. Doug Beason, co-author of Assemblers of Infinity, Deputy Associate Director at the Los Alamos National Research Laboratory and Robert Silverberg (Sailing to Byzantium) who also received this year's L. Ron Hubbard Lifetime Achievement Award.

Twenty-four contest winners-14 writers and 10 illustrators-received awards during the ceremony, with cash prizes totaling nearly $30,000.

Preceded by a performance by jazz great Chick Corea and Academy Award nominated composer and musician, Mark Isham, the ceremonies were capped by presentation of the Hubbard Gold Award grand prizes to the top winners in each contest.

Receiving the grand prize for "Story of the Year" was Matthew Candelaria of Lawrence, Kansas. The "Illustrator of the Year" prize went to Mike Lawrence of Eugene, Oregon.

The event was also highlighted by the release of L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume XIX (Galaxy Press), the yearly anthology of never before published winning stories and accompanying illustrations.

For more information on the Contest, you can surf on over to

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site