MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


Return of the King goes to Saturn?

16/02/2004. Contributed by Jessica Martin

author pic

The Return of the King leads the nominations for The 30th Annual Saturn Awards.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films has just announced the nominations for The 30th Annual Saturn Awards.

For those not in the know, the Saturn Awards honor the best in genre film, television, and home entertainment. This year's show is once again presented by Cinescape Magazine.

"The Lord of the Rings: The Return Of the King" leads this year's group with a total of 13 nominations including Best Picture (Fantasy), Best Actor (Viggo Mortensen and Elijah Wood), and Best Supporting Actor (Sean Astin, Ian McKellen, and Andy Serkis). Peter Jackson receives nominations for Best Director and Best Writing (along with Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens).

In previous years, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" received 8 nominations and won 3 Saturn Awards (including Best Director: Peter Jackson).

"The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers" received 9 nominations and won 4 Saturn Awards. With this year's nominations, "The Lord of the Ring" film series have received a total of 30 nominations with 7 wins (so far).

Other films making a strong showing this year include: "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" receiving 9 nominations, "X2: X-Men United" garnering 7 nominations, "Kill Bill, Vol. 1" receiving 6 and "The Last Samurai" coming up with 5 nominations.

A total of 32 films are represented this year with nominations.

The WB leads all networks this year with 11 nominations for their television series. The Sci Fi Channel shows great strength with 9 nominations and both UPN and ABC garnered 6 nominations apiece.

"Smallville" and "Angel" lead the pack with 5 nominations each followed closely by "Alias" & "Stargate SG1" with 4 nominations each.

Special Award recipients this year are: Composer John Williams (Lifetime Achievement Award), Blake Edwards (Life Career Award), Ridley Scott (George Pal Memorial Award), Gale Anne Hurd (Dr. Donald A. Reed Award), Paul G. Allen (The Visionary Award), and Eli Roth (The Filmmakers Showcase Award).

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films was founded in 1972 by film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed. The non-profit organization was formed to honor, recognize and promote genre entertainment. Towards this end the Academy annually votes the Saturn Awards, a distinguished award widely respected by the genre community.

Many of the top talent in the film and television industry have been honored by the organization. Some of the attendees to the annual dinner/awards show include: Sherry Lansing, Steven Spielberg, Frank Darabont, Ron Meyer, Gore Verbinski, Walter Parkes, Nicholas Cage, Brian Grazer, James Cameron, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Whoopi Goldberg, Jim Wiatt, Michael De Luca, Robert Shaye, Peter Jackson, J.J. Abrams, Michael Bay, Gale Anne Hurd, Peter Fonda, Bill Paxton, Stan Lee, and Robert Wise to name a few.

The Academy is currently headed by Robert Holguin and boasts around 1000 members worldwide. This year marks the 30th annual Saturn Awards event. This year's show will be dedicated to the Founder, Dr. Donald A. Reed, who passed away in 2001.


Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site