MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


Sidewise Awards winners 2005

15/08/2005. Contributed by Jessica Martin

author pic

Results just in from this year's alternative universe story awards, as presented at Interaction, the World Science Fiction Convention, in Glasgow, Scotland, yesterday.

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best "genre" publications of the year. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time," which explores a world in which a strange storm allows people to travel between alternate worlds. The first Sidewise Awards were announced in Summer 1996 at L.A.Con III. In 2004, the jury members for the award were Nicholas Gevers, Karen Hellekson, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Robert Schmunk , Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven Silver.

Each year, two awards are given. The Best Long Form Award will be presented to the best novel or complete series. The Best Short Form Award will be given to the best work under 60,000 words. In addition, at the discretion of the judges, a Special Achievement Award may be presented for a significant body of work or a specific novel or story which was published prior to the inception of the award. A complete list of past winners may be found at This year's awards were presented at Interaction, the World Science Fiction Convention, in Glasgow, Scotland, on August 5. This year marks the tenth presentation of the Sidewise Awards.

Sidewise Award for Best Long Form Alternate History
Philip Roth, The Plot Against America
(Houghton Mifflin)

Sidewise Award for Best Short Form Alternate History
Warren Ellis, The Ministry of Space
(Image Comics)

Philip Roth is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of American Pastoral. His other works include Goodbye, Columbus and Portnoy's Complaint. Roth has twice won the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award, and the National Book Critics Circle Award. In 1998, he received the National Medal of the Arts at the White House.

Warren Ellis is a British comic book and graphic novel author. He has written for Marvel, DC Comics, Caliber Comics, and Image Comics. Chris Weston provided the art for The Ministry of Space, which is the first graphic novel to win a Sidewise Award. The Ministry of Space appeared in three issues beginning in 2001 and ending in 2004.

Check them out over at

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site