MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


The big science fiction draw

26/07/2005. Contributed by Jessica Martin

author pic

Science fiction and fantasy artists & illustrators, it's time to celebrate. The nominees for the 20th annual ASFA awards, the Chesleys, are announced.

This is the official ballot for the 20th annual ASFA awards, the Chesleys. The Chesley, named for the astronomical artist, Chesley Bonestell, started in 1985 as a means for the science fiction and fantasy art community to recognize individual works and achievements during a given year.

This year's awards are for works and achievements in the period from January 1 to December 31, 2004.

Art works and achievements by non-ASFA members are eligible for the Chesley awards, but you must be a regular, life, or associate ASFA member to vote.

Nominees are:

Award for Artistic Achievement

Brad Bird
John Howe
Jean 'Moebius' Giraud
Omar Rayyan
Drew Struzan
Darrell K. Sweet

Best Cover Illustrations - Hardback Books

Rick Berry for Queen of the Amazons by Judith Tarr (Tor, March 2004).
Tony DiTerlizzi for The Wrath of Mulgarath: The Spiderwick Chronicles Book 5 by Holly Black & Tony DiTerlizzi (Simon & Schuster, September 2004).
Donato Giancola for The Nameless Day by Sara Douglas (Tor, July 2004).
Todd Lockwood for Glass Dragons by Sean McMullen (Tor, March 2004).
Ruth Sanderson for The Snow Princess by Ruth Sanderson (Little Brown, October 2004).
Stephen Youll for The Dragon's Son by Margaret Weis (Tor, July 2004).

Best Cover Illustrations - Paperback Books

Patrick Arrasmith for Agyar by Steven Brust (Tor, August 2004).
Gregory Brides for City of Pearl by Karen Traviss (EOS, February 2004).
Kenn Brown for ReVisions edited by Jule E. Czerneda & Isaac Szpindel (DAW, August 2004).
Kinuko Y. Craft for Thomas the Rhymer by Ellen Kushner (Spectra, June 2004).
John Jude Palencar for The Wild Reel by Paul Brandon (Tor, June 2004).
John Picacio for Her Smoke Rose Up Forever by James Tiptree Jr. (Tachyon, 2004).

Best Cover Illustrations - Magazine

Jim Burns for Heavy Metal, March 2004.
Leo & Diane Dillon for Argosy, January/February 2004.
Tom Kidd for Weird Tales #336, December 2004.
Marianne Plumridge for Weird Tales #334, January/February 2004.
Omar Rayyan for Spider Magazine, October 2004.

Best Interior Illustration

Kenn Brown for Fantastic Voyage (Wired, August 2004).
Paul Kidby for The Art of Discworld by Terry Pratchett & Paul Kidby (Gollanez, 2004).
Ruth Sanderson for The Snow Princess by Ruth Sanderson (Little Brown, 2004).
Charles Vess for Medicine Road by Charles de Lint (Subterranean Press, 2004).
Terryl Whitlatch for The Katurran Odyssey by Terryl Whitlatch & David Michael Wiegger (Simon & Schuster, 2004).

Best Color Work - Unpublished

Michael Dashow for Impromptu First Contact, watercolor.
Marc Fishman for Water Nymph, oil.
Don Maitz for Out of the Woods, oil.
Omar Rayyan for Man with a Gold Earring, oil.
Lawrence Allen Williams for The Ascendant, oil & pencil.

Best Monochrome Work - Unpublished

David Deen for Dragon & Spaceship, pencil.
Robert Elneskog for The Halls of Valhalla, pencil.
Mael for of Túrin Turambar, ink.
J.P. Targete for Fantagoria, pencil.
Charles Vess for Mary Culhane, charcoal.

Best Three-Dimensional Art

William Basso for The Ambassador, resin.
Real Musgrave for Dragon Riders, resin.
Lawrence Northey for AF-Z4 The Duke an' Blinky, metal & glass.
Richard Sardinha for Copper Dragon Tiles, resin.
Lisa Snellings-Clark for Gentle Passage, paper mach.

Best Gaming-Related Illustration

Dave Allsop for Boneclaw interior for Monster Manual III, a D&D accessory (WotC, September 2004).
Ed Cox for Sea Kin Haggling interior for Races of Destiny , a D&D Race Series accessory (WoTC, December 2004).
Les Edwards cover for Creature of Havoc, a Fighting Fantasy game book (I Books, 3/04).
William O'Connor for Training a Dire Badger interior for Races of Stone, a D&D Race Series accessory (WoTC, August 2004).
Mark Zug cover for Monte Cook's Arcana Unearthed, a Variant players handbook (Malhavoc Press).

Best Product Illustration

Wayne Barlowe for Hellboy concept design.
Kenn Brown for Stargate Atlantis production design.
Renee Milot for The Pearl Fishers, Philadelphia Opera promo art.
Dean Morrissey for Celtic King fine art print, Greenwich Workshop.
Greg Spalenka for poster for Spectrum 12.

Award for Best Art Director

Scott Allie for Dark Horse Comics.
Laura Cleveland for Realms of Fantasy Magazine.
Irene Gallo for Tor Books.
Robert Raper for Wizards of The Coast.
David Stevenson for Del Rey Books.

Award for Contribution to ASFA

Kat Angeli - production & printing of 2004 Chesley brochure.
Alan Beck - art direction of ASFA Quarterly.
Elaine Fisher & Andrea Senchy - 2004 Chesley Awards ceremony.
Ingrid Neilson - ongoing promotion of ASFA & the Chesley Awards.
Larry Vela - work above and beyond officer duties.

Full details over at

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site