MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


The sounds of Narnia

19/12/2005. Contributed by Jessica Martin

Buy The Chronicles of Narnia in the USA - or Buy The Chronicles of Narnia in the UK

author pic

Walt Disney Records will release two versions of the soundtrack for Walt Disney Pictures/Walden Media's The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe on December 13th 2005.

The first is the Original Soundtrack, featuring score composed by Harry Gregson-Williams and songs performed by Alanis Morrissette, Imogen Heap, Tim Finn and Lisbeth Scott. The other is the 2-disc Special Edition Soundtrack, which includes a Special Edition CD, containing the original soundtrack plus a 40-page souvenir booklet, and DVD.

In 1950, the scholar, critic and writer C.S. Lewis published The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, the first of his seven-volume series, The Chronicles of Narnia, and established a modern legend. Adults and children alike fell in love with his adventure that was set in the middle of World War II bombing raids yet transported readers into an alternate and far more enchanted universe of mythological creatures waging an epic battle between good and evil.

Created by director Andrew Adamson to match C.S. Lewis' own vision of Narnia, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe marks the live-action debut of New Zealander Adamson, who came to fore bringing worldwide audiences Shrek and Shrek 2.

Harry Gregson-Williams reunites with director Andrew Adamson after composing the scores for Shrek and Shrek 2. Gregson-Williams is well-known in the world of animation, having also scored the features Antz and Chicken Run. Named The Hollywood Composer of the Year 2005 by the Hollywood Film Festival, Gregson-Williams created the scores for a list of films, including. Kingdom of Heaven, Veronica Guerin, Team America: World Police, Bridget Jones: The Age of Reason, and the recent theatrical release Domino.

Walt Disney Records will release an original soundtrack and a Special Edition CD/DVD package for The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. The soundtrack will feature the orchestral score composed by Gregson-Williams plus four original songs: "Can't Take It In," performed by Imogen Heap, "Winter Light" by Tim Finn (formerly of Split Enz, Crowded House, Finn Brothers), "Where" performed by Lisbeth Scott, who lent her vocal talents to the Shrek and Passion of the Christ soundtracks, and "Wunderkind" performed by Alanis Morissette.

The Special Edition Soundtrack set will include a 40-page collectible souvenir booklet filled with film imagery, liner notes by director Andrew Adamson and quotes from composer Harry Gregson-Williams. The package will include a DVD with a Film Art Gallery, Concept Art Gallery, the Theatrical Trailer, Behind the Magic of Narnia: Featuring the Score with Harry Gregson-Williams and Music Inspired by the Film. The latter features interviews and song samples from The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe "Inspired by" album on EMI, featuring Christian artists Steven Curtis Chapman, Jeremy Camp, Bethany Dillon, Toby Ma, Nichole Nordeman, and Jars of Clay.

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site