MagazineSci-fi news

Just in | Library of scifi news


25th Clarke Awards

04/03/2011. Contributed by Jessica Martin

author pic

The shortlist is in for the 25th Arthur C. Clarke award for science fiction literature and the six authors shortlisted for this year’s award are Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, Patrick Ness, Richard Powers, Tim Powers and Tricia Sullivan. The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the UK’s main prize for science fiction literature.

The six shortlisted books are:

• Zoo City – Lauren Beukes (Angry Robot).
• The Dervish House – Ian McDonald (Gollancz).
• Monsters of Men – Patrick Ness (Walker Books) .
• Generosity – Richard Powers (Atlantic Books).
• Declare – Tim Powers (Corvus).
• Lightborn – Tricia Sullivan (Orbit).

This year’s six shortlisted titles were selected from a long list of fifty-four eligible submissions put forward by twenty-two different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter told the Nest, “The twenty-fifth anniversary of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was always going to be a landmark year, and we couldn’t have asked for a more fascinating and exciting shortlist to get the celebrations started.

“Fifty-four eligible books is one of the highest submission years we’ve ever had, and when you look at all of the reviews, debate and online commentary that’s surrounded many of these titles you can see just how hard the judges’ deliberations were this year.

“For me this list is a great indication of just how deep, rich and complex the literature of science fiction can be. I think this list is a definite keeper, as they say, and my hope is that twenty-five years from now people will still be coming back to it as a representation of everything that’s best about the diversity and strength of our genre.”

The judging panel for this year are:

• Jon Courtenay Grimwood, British Science Fiction Association
• Martin Lewis, British Science Fiction Association
• Phil Nanson, Science Fiction Foundation
• Liz Williams, Science Fiction Foundation
• Paul Skevington,

Paul Billinger represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award as the Chair of Judges.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 27th April 2011 at an award ceremony held in partnership SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival. The winner with a cheque for £2011.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of sci-fi news

Add daily news updates to your own web site or blog - just cut and paste the code below...


The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod


- Top books

- Top movies/tv series


- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+


- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site