MagazineNews

Science fiction and fantasy news library February 2010.

Just in | Library of scifi news

New Doctor Who trailer
27/02/2010. The youthful new Doctor Who series is creeping ever closer, as evidenced by this trailer our chums in the BBC have sent over to us.

Aeon Award 2009 short fiction contest
26/02/2010. Albedo One, Ireland’s main magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror, has announced the winners of the International Aeon Award 2009 short fiction contest.

A science fiction response to the Child P case
25/02/2010. Chris Beckett is a Science Fiction writer who wins literary awards (The Edgehill Prize, 4th July 2009) and has a day job as senior lecturer in social work at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge. He has authored a number of academic textbooks on social work theory, ethics and child protection.

Turbulence
23/02/2010. The Zeno Literary Agency has taken on Indian SFF author Samit Basu as a client. Samit is a rising star on the scene on India – his Gameworld Trilogy, hit the best seller lists over there and he joins Zeno having sent his novel Turbulence into the agency.

The End
22/02/2010. A trailer for Supernatural season 5 episode 4, which airs in the UK Wednesday 24th February at 9pm on Living.

Thirteen Years Later
21/02/2010. Jasper Kent has revamped his website, including a new flash animation, in advance of Bantam Press's UK publication of Thirteen Years Later, the sequel to his historical vampire debut Twelve.

Tozo captures Stephen Hunt
20/02/2010. You never know where a fan of fantasy author Stephen Hunt might crop up. Take, for instance, the Tintin-like graphic novels featuring the scifi adventures of Detective Inspector Tozo by illustrator/writer David O'Connell - in David's latest series, he actually has Stephen Hunt appearing as a character!

Wereworld
16/02/2010. Puffin have acquired two fantasy novels in a new series entitled Wereworld by British author and artist Curtis Jobling (creator of Bob the Builder). Shannon Park, Executive Editor at Puffin secured world rights for the series from the John Jarrold Literary Agency, for an undisclosed five-figure sum. The Wereworld novels are due for publication in 2011 and 2012 respectively.

Wake up and Dream
16/02/2010. Following their publication of Ian R. MacLeod's 2009 novel Song of Time, Peter Crowther at PS Publishing has acquired limited edition rights from John Berlyne at the Zeno Agency for MacLeod's new novel Wake up and Dream and will publish in the latter part of 2010. The PS edition will feature cover art by Dirk Berger.

Black Library announce the return of fantasy writer William King
14/02/2010. William King has signed a major new deal with the Black Library, for a trilogy based on the high elf characters Tyrion and Teclis.

The Lady of Eslaya
7/02/2010. Literary agent to the scifi stars, John Jarrold’s latest client is British fantasy writer Charlotte Naylor, who is planning a fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Trudi Canavan, Kristin Cashore and Maria V Snyder, opening with The Lady of Eslaya.

The Last Airbender - first big trailer
04/02/2010. The people behind the live action version film of Avatar, aka the Last Airbender (well, M. Night Shyamalan, mainly), has tipped us off that his new movie has it's first big trailer out.

The Losers
01/02/2010. First trailer for a spy-fi flick based on the comic-strip, The Losers. A CIA suicide squad has to go against the agency when the government decides they know too much and need killing. Looks like guilty watching pleasure.

Kage Baker no more
01/02/2010. The Green Man sends in the very sad news of the death of science fiction author Kage Baker, who finally died of cancer on Sunday January 31st 2010 at the age of 58.

Give me a death worth dying for, Terry Pratchett demands
01/02/2010. Fantasy author Sir Terry Pratchett will present an impassioned plea for people to have the right to choose how, where and when they die when he delivers the Richard Dimbleby Lecture on BBC One tonight at 10.35pm.

Magazine > Scifi news

Just in | Library of scifi news

The all-new SFcrowsnest is now running at www.SFcrowsnest.org.uk. This is now the archive for pre-2012 content. Nothing new is being posted here.

Magazine Articles

- Features

- Movie/TV Reviews

- Book Reviews

- News

- E-mail magazine

- Encyclopedia

- Other formats: Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook, iPhone & iPod

Charts

- Top books

- Top movies/tv series

Offworld

- SciFi @ FaceBook

- Steampunk @ FaceBook

- Us @ Google+

Search

- Search site

Reader Tools

- RSS news feed

- Facebook page for SFcrowsnest

- Twitter page for SFcrowsnest

- Google toolbar for SFcrowsnest

Webmaster Tools

- Add our content feeds to your site